And overflowing garage and the Anarchist’s Tool Chest


My small garage is overflowing. Tools, bits of tools, semi-restored tools and piles of wood are everywhere. I’ve been struggling to get the car in and then me out of it because of the accumulation in there. It’s even overflowed into the other half (we have a weird split garage) and is getting in the road there.

I decided something had to be done, and as inspiration for one giant cleanout I got the eBook version of Chris Schwatz’s new book, ‘The Anarchist’s Tool Chest’. He goes through what tools you need to do fine woodworking, and what to avoid. I’m about a third of the way through it but it’s already helped me decide what to do about some of the clutter. I’ll let you know what I think when I get to the end.

What I’ve already done is grab an empty 60 litre crate and start filling it with things I know I don’t need. So far it’s mostly duplicates and what Chris calls ‘tool-shaped objects’ but it took 5 minutes to get it 1/3 full. Hopefully the other 2/3 of the book will inspire me to fill the remaining two thirds of the crate.

Leave a Reply

