Gaining extra bench space


I recently needed a new ladder and ended up with one of those folding ones that can do about 500 different things. It does its primary job very well, but has the added advantage of being able to double as extra bench when I need it.

Here it’s shown with a few pieces of scrap pine on top to build a work surface. I generally don’t build on it but it’s great to use for putting tools in use, and for finishing work.

I also use the rungs to store the longer parts of anything I build, that way I don’t trip over them or lose track of them in the middle of a project. Once the day is done it folds up neatly and can be put away. You could however use it as a permanent wood storage rack if you wanted to.

Leave a Reply

